

PROGRAMME

EASO 10-Year Anniversary Conference: EASO to EUAA – 10 years of support

14 October 2021	
16.30-17.00	Registration and welcome coffee
17.00-	Keynote Speeches
17.45h	Nina Cragari Evacutiva Director EASO
	Nina Gregori, Executive Director, EASO Margaritis Schinas, Vice President, European Commission
	Ylva Johansson, Commissioner for Migration and Home Affairs, European Commission
	Gillian Triggs, Assistant High Commissioner for Protection, UNHCR H.E. George Vella, President of Malta
17.45-	Panel 1: The operational arm of the Common European Asylum System: how
19.00h	has it flexed its muscle over the past 10 years and what was EASO's role in a changing geopolitical context?
	Moderator: Ali Aslan, International TV Presenter and Journalist
	Panellists:
	- Nicos Nouris, Minister of Interior of Cyprus
	- Notis Mitarachi, Minister of Migration and Asylum of Greece
	- Byron Camilleri, Minister for Home Affairs, National Security and Law Enforcement of Malta
	- Aleš Hojs, Minister of Interior of Slovenia
	- Patrícia Gaspar, Secretary of State for Home Affairs of Portugal
	- Elena Yoncheva, Member of the European Parliament
	<u>Link to Discussion Paper</u>
19.30h	Formal Dinner







Tel: +356 2248 7500





15 October 2021	
09.00-	Welcome Coffee
09.30	
09.30-	Panel 2: The operational arm of the Common European Asylum System: EASO's
11.00h	role in building more robust asylum and reception systems bottom up
	Moderators: Rachelle Cortis, Head of Training and Professional Development
	Centre a.i. and Ward Lutin, Head of Asylum Knowledge Centre, EASO
	Panellists:
	- Catherine Woollard, Director, European Council for Refugees and Exiles
	- Anja Steinmetz, Head of Unit, Department of International tasks, migration
	policy of the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees (BAMF), Germany
	- Dirk Van den Bulck, Commissioner General for Refugees and Stateless
	Persons, Belgium
	- Claudio Martelli, Head of the Asylum Directorate at the Swiss State
	Secretariat for Migration, Switzerland - Fabienne Keller, Member of the European Parliament
	- Svetlana Velimirović, Deputy Commissioner, Commissariat for Refugees,
	Serbia
	<u>Link to Discussion Paper</u>
11.00-	Coffee Break
11.30h	
11.30-	Panel 3: National asylum and reception authorities: responding to quickly
13.00h	shifting realities?
	Moderator: Hanne Beirens, Director, MPI Europe
	Panellists:
	- Mirjam Schuit, Chief of Staff of the Management Board of the Dutch Central
	Agency for the Reception of Asylum Seekers (COA), The Netherlands
	- Gerald Dreveny, Federal Ministry of the Interior, Austria
	- Amparo Gonzalez Ferrer, Deputy Director for Migratory Analysis, Spain
	- Meredith Byron, Director, Intergovernmental Consultations on Migration,
	Asylum and Refugees (IGC)







- Patrick Austin, Head of Operational Support Centre a.i., EASO
<u>Link to Discussion Paper</u>
Buffet Lunch
Panel 4: Peering into the future: What does the future hold for international
protection regimes and the EUAA's role in those?
Moderator : Mark Camilleri, Head of Executive Office and Head of Administration Centre a.i., EASO
Panellists:
- Demetrios Papademetriou, Distinguished Transatlantic Fellow and President Emeritus, MPI
- Robert K Visser, First EASO Executive Director
- Mikael Ribbenvik, Director General, Swedish Migration Agency and Chair of the EASO Management Board
 Michael Shotter, Director for Migration, Asylum and Visa, Directorate General for Migration and Home Affairs, European Commission Guy Stessens, Deputy Director for Home Affairs, General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union
<u>Link to Discussion Paper</u>
Closing remarks by Ms Nina Gregori, Executive Director of EASO
Coffee

