EASO History

EASO becomes fully operational: Dr Visser, EASO Executive Director, Commissioner Malmstrom, Hon Gonzi, Prime Minister of Malta and Hon Mifsud Bonnici, Malta's Former Minister for Home Affairs and Local Government, signing a declaration to this effect on 19 June 2011.

EASO's  history:

  • The Tampere European Council of 1999 agreed on the establishment of a Common European Asylum System (CEAS).
  • The EU 2004 Hague Programme proposed the establishment of the European Asylum Support Office. The Office was conceived to play a crucial role in ensuring practical cooperation between Member States on matters related to asylum.
  • The European Commission proposed the creation of EASO on 18 February 2009.
  • In the first quarter of 2010, the European Parliament and the Council agreed on the creation of EASO. The EASO regulation came into force on 19 June 2010.
  • On 1 February 2011, EASO became operational as an EU agency.
  • On 1 April 2011 the first EASO operating plan was signed to support the reconstruction of the Greek asylum system.
  • On 24 May 2011, the 'seat agreement' between the Government of Malta and EASO was signed. The agreement governs the relationship between the host Member State and EASO.
  • On 19 June 2011, EASO was officially inaugurated in Malta.
  • On 7 September 2012, EASO moved into its new premises located in the Grand Harbour of Valletta, Malta.
  • In 2012, Luxembourg and Sweden requested and obtained EASO’s support.
  • In 2013, Bulgaria and Italy requested and obtained EASO’s support.
  • In 2014, Cyprus requested and obtained EASO's support.
  • In 2015, EASO played a central role in the implementation of the EU Migration agenda and the new hotspot approach.
  • In 2016, Mr José Carreira became the new EASO Executive Director.
  • In 2017, EASO extended its operational and training activities, particularly in Italy and in Greece. 
  • In June 2018, Mr. Jamil Addou was appointed acting Executive Director of EASO.
  • In June 2019, Ms. Nina Gregori took up her duties as the new Executive Director of EASO.