Skip to main content
The evolution of the Common European Asylum System (CEAS) 
     1999-2005: First phase of CEAS     1990  Dublin
1999 Tampere Council Conclusions     
2000 Eurodac Regulation    
2001 Temporary Protection Directive
Agreement with Iceland and Norway on the application of the Dublin Convention
2003 Reception Conditions Directive
Dublin II Regulation
2004 Qualification Directive    
2005 Asylum Procedures Directive    
     2006-2013: Second phase of CEAS       
    The Eurodac Regulation and the Dublin II Regulation are extended to Denmark 2006
    Agreement with Switzerland on the application of the Dublin II Regulation 2008
    EASO Regulation  2010
    Recast Qualification Directive 2011
    Recast Asylum Procedures Directive
Recast Reception Conditions Directive
Recast Eurodac Regulation
Dublin III Regulation
      2015-2020: European Agenda on Migration    
2016 The European Commission presents two packages for the reform of CEAS
Proposal for the reform of the Dublin system
Proposal for a revised Eurodac Regulation
Proposal for transforming EASO to a European Union Agency for Asylum    
Proposal for a Qualification Regulation
Proposal for an Asylum Procedures Regulation
Proposal for a revised Reception Conditions Directive
2018 Ireland opts in and transposes the recast Reception Conditions Directive    
2020   Pact on Migration and Asylum     
2021 EASO anniversary     
#EASOAsylumReport2021   Donwload infographic (PDF(JPG