Skip to main content

Acronyms and abbreviations


ACSG     Asylum Capacity Support Group 
AIDA     Asylum Information Database
AMIF     Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund
AVRR     Assisted voluntary return and reintegration programmes
AWAS     Agency for the Welfare of Asylum Seekers (Malta)
AZC     Asylum seekers’ centre (asielzoekerscentrum) (Netherlands)
BBU     Federal Agency for Reception and Support Services (Bundesagentur für Betreuungs- und Unterstützungsleistungen GmbH) (Austria)
BVMN     Border Violence Monitoring Network
CALL     Council for Alien Law Litigation (Belgium)
CAT     UN Committee against Torture
CEAS     Common European Asylum System
CEDAW     UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women
CEPOL     EU Agency for Law Enforcement Training
CGRS     Commissioner General for Refugees and Stateless Persons (Belgium)
CJEU     Court of Justice of the European Union
CNAIM     National Centre for Supporting the Integration of Migrants (Portugal)
COA     Central Agency for the Reception of Asylum Seekers (Centraal Orgaan opvang asielzoekers) (Netherlands)
COI     Country of origin information
CPT     European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment
DT&V     Repatriation and Departure Service (Netherlands)
EASO     European Asylum Support Office
ECHR     European Convention on Human Rights
ECtHR     European Court of Human Rights
ECRE     European Council on Refugees and Exiles
EMCDDA European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction 
EMN     European Migration Network
ENS     European Network on Statelessness 
EPS     EASO’s Early Warning and Preparedness System
ETCC Employer Tailored Chain Cooperation
EU+ European Union Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland
eu-LISA European Agency for the Operational Management of Large-Scale IT Systems in the Area of Freedom, Security and Justice
EUAA     EU Asylum Agency 
Eurojust EU Judicial Cooperation Agency 
Europol EU Agency for Law Enforcement Cooperation
Fedasil Federal Agency for the Reception of Asylum Seekers (Belgium)
FGM/C     Female genital mutilation and cutting
FRA EU Agency for Fundamental Rights
Frontex     European Border and Coast Guard Agency
GDP Gross domestic product
GRETA Group of Experts on Action against Trafficking in Human Beings (Council of Europe)
ICCPR International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights
ICMC International Catholic Migration Commission
IDP Internally displaced person
IGAD Intergovernmental Authority on Development
IHAP Irish Humanitarian Admissions Programme
IND Immigration and Naturalisation Service
IOM     International Organization for Migration
IPAS International Protection Accommodation Services (Ireland)
IPAT     International Protection Appeals Tribunal (Ireland)
IRPP Irish Refugee Protection Programme
JHA EU Justice and Home Affairs
JRS Jesuit Refugee Service
LGBTI Lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans-gender and intersex
MIRPS     Comprehensive Regional Framework for Protection and Solutions (Central America and Mexico)
MEPs Members of the European Parliament
MPI Migration Policy Institute
NCPT National Commission for the Prevention of Torture (Switzerland) 
NDGAP National Directorate-General for Aliens Policing (Hungary)
NGO     Non-governmental organisation
NOAS     Norwegian Organisation for Asylum Seekers
OAU     Organization of African Unity
OFII     Office for Immigration and Integration (Office Français de l’Immigration et de l’Intégration) (France)
OFPRA Office for the Protection of Refugees and Stateless Persons (Office Français de Protection des Réfugiés et Apatrides) (France)
RNAVVD     National Support Network for Victims of Domestic Violence (Portugal)
SEM State Secretariat for Migration (Switzerland)
SOGI     Sexual orientation and gender identity
SOGIESC Sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, and sex characteristics
SRA Specific Residence Authorisation
SSAR Support Platform for the Solutions Strategy for Afghan Refugees
TGEU Transgender Europe
UNHCR     United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
WHO World Health Organization